As I start to pack up my house for the impending move to Springfield I am again surrounded by the total amount of “stuff” that I have and spent money on since I have becomes an adult. Moving makes you acutely aware of how much stuff you own but never use. Hence my wife and I often will use moving as a chance to purge our life of things we don’t need or want any more. When we moved from Las Vegas to Decatur, we must have made at least a half a dozen trips to the Salvation Army with things we didn’t want or need anymore. I am sure this short more to Springfield, Illinois will be much the same as well.  This all leads me to a passage from the Bible that has sometimes run through my mind about some of the stuff that I picked up over the years.

 When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways (1 Cor. 13:11).

Are the things I have collected in my life childish? Is the fact that I own a dozen or so Star Wars Lego sets childish? Or the hundreds of dollars I spent on video games, even after my daughter was born? Of the 150+ Star Wars novels (that now are deemed “Legends” by Disney)? Or the massive collection of Boba Fett collectibles? What about the books I have read once and probably will never pick up again that populate the bookshelves in my house? What about the DVDs of movies I like but never watch?

Am I childish? Should I put away these childish things? Unfortunately, I do not have an answer in my own head. What do you think? Which of these “childish” things are childish and should be put away with my adulthood and maturity?

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Class dismissed.

Sources
Waterson, Bill. “The Future.” The Teacher’s Life. WordPress, 17 May 2011. Web. 2 June 2017. (The Featured Image for the post)

