This is a letter I drafted to send out to the families of the Lutheran School Association this week. It has not been sent through formal channels, but I thought it was important to put out now.

Dear Students, Parents, Supporters, and the Community of the Lutheran School Association,
It is with great sadness that I must inform this great Christian community that I will not be returning as a teacher to the Lutheran School Association in the 2017-2018 school year. On Friday, May 5, I was informed that due to low enrollment numbers for the next school year the Board of Education was releasing me as a measure of a reduction in force.
I apologize for keeping this information from all of you for the last few weeks. With the timing of my release, I thought it in the best interest of the school, the students, and the graduating seniors to keep this information quiet. I did not want to draw the focus away from finals or graduation.
On a positive note, I have been pursuing an opportunity outside of Decatur, and I am able to announce my family’s direction today. As of Monday, May 22, I was extended a Call to serve as a social studies teacher at Lutheran High School (LuHi) in Springfield, Illinois. I can now see that God was preparing me for another ministry long before I knew I needed it.
To this community I would like to say “Thank you” and “God bless!” Thank you for the last five years of ministry. Thank you for allowing me to teach, interact and be a part of your children’s and your lives. I wish this ministry and school the best and pray that God will bless the LSA for His will and His Gospel to continue to be spread throughout all the earth. I am sure I will see you around in the coming months and years since I will hopefully be down the road in Springfield.
If anyone wishes to contact me they can do so in several ways. I am on Facebook (though I don’t check it as much lately), so you can friend me or message me through that platform. I will be at school over the next few days until May 31, attending professional development training and cleaning out my classroom, so feel free to stop by. For those who wish to email me feel free. If we happen to see each other in the world in the near or far future, feel free to come up, and say “Hi.”
Thank you again and have a wonderful day.
Faithful to the Gospelf of Christ Jesus,
Adam J. Bulava
 The video below is a message I recorded with Jon Newlin for the LSA class of 2017. Due to not being chosen to speak at graduation, I choose to film what I would say because I wanted to say one more thing to this class. I hope you enjoy and learn something from it for your own life.

Thanks for your time and have a nice day.

 Questions? Comments? Concerns? Class dismissed!
